UMM student-athletes honored at CAPY Awards

CAPY Awards Team of the Year

The University of Maine at Machias Athletics Department hosted its annual CAPY (Clipper Athletics Players of the Year) Awards ceremony on Sunday, April 28, celebrating the 2018–2019 year of Clipper Athletics.

The Clippers experienced a banner year, with four teams qualifying for the YSCC conference playoff, three teams advancing to the conference semi-final and the women’s basketball team earning an at-large berth to the USCAA National Tournament.

Many student-athletes brought home USCAA individual honors. On the soccer pitch, freshman Amber Chasse and senior Josie Griffin were named 2nd-team USCAA All-Americans, with freshman Morgan Doughty earning an honorable mention. On the basketball court, junior Tate Dolley and senior Dante Ramos were named 2nd-team USCAA All-Americans, with senior Trey Thompson earning an honorable mention. For her work on the soccer pitch, in the classroom, and within the community, junior Dawn Johnson was named USCAA Women’s Soccer Division-2 Student-Athlete of the Year.

Athlete of the Year Dante Ramos poses with professor Bernie Vinzani.

Two players also reached career milestones on the basketball court, with Dante Ramos joining the 1000-point club and Trey Thompson joining both the 1000-point club and the 1000-rebound club.

“Every single student-athlete who chooses to represent UMM and wear that jersey adds to the fabric of our small and proud community,” said Director of Athletics Mike Belanger. “Congratulations to all of our award recipients and to everyone who contributes to the success of Clipper Athletics.”

Those honored were:

Newcomers of the Year: Amber Chasse in Women’s Soccer, Zay Plange in Men’s Basketball; Supporting Player of the Year: Abby Allen in Women’s Basketball, Tommy Papagionopolis in Men’s Basketball; Team Academic Excellence Awards: Women’s Soccer, Women’s Basketball, Women’s Volleyball; Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Jillian Dow in Women’s Soccer, Ian Nally in Men’s Soccer; Clipper Spirit Award: Bernie Vinzani, Faculty, Dan Gardner, Staff;  Performances of the Year: Caitlyn Lyons in Women’s Basketball, Trey Thompson in Men’s Basketball; Mr. & Miss Clipper: Colleen Kostovick in Women’s Volleyball, Caitlyn Lyons in Women’s Basketball, Ian Nally in Men’s Soccer; Hometown Hero: Alyana Caricofe in Women’s Basketball, Devonte Stevens in Men’s Soccer; Champion of Character: Josie Griffin in Women’s Soccer, Trey Thompson in Men’s Basketball; Athlete of the Year: Tate Dolley in Women’s Basketball, Dante Ramos in Men’s Basketball; President’s Award: Dawn Johnson, Women’s Soccer.