UMM Presents $63,000 in Scholarship Awards at Honors Convocation

The University of Maine at Machias held its annual Honors Convocation on April 26 and presented more than $63,000 in scholarships and awards. The event was held in the campus’ Performing Arts Center and featured a welcome message from Interim President Sue Huseman.

Huseman praised the work of the UMM students, particularly those who were being honored, and acknowledged that they “shared the purpose and pride in our University.” She said the Honors Convocation was the first step in a series of events which culminate in UMM’s 106th commencement on May 13. Events coming up include  Celebrate UMM, Athletic Awards, the Senior Dinner and commencement.

Matthew Cole is UMM’s 2017 Ivy Orator and in his speech noted he was the first in his family to attend college. He said he originally was accepted at 7 colleges but “there was only one that felt like home. Within minutes of arriving on campus, I knew I wanted to be here.” He praised UMM’s professors for allowing a connection and personal dedication which enabled him to succeed.

Awards were presented for academic achievement in arts and letters, environmental and biological sciences and professional studies. Special awards were gifted to members of the senior class, including the Frederic A. Reynolds Faculty Award, the Unsung Hero Staff Award, the Senior Class Marshal appointment and Senior Watch Awards.

Special honorees presented by the UMM senior class of 2017 were Cole, Ivy Orator; Eric Jones, Frederic A. Reynolds Faculty Award; Rose Mondville of the Academic Office, Unsung Hero Staff Award; Karen Beeftink, Senior Class Marshal; and the senior gift to UMM is to “The UMM Needs New Roads Fund,” to help with campus road repairs. Senior Watch Awards were given to Cheyenne Robinson and Rachel Gorich.

Students honored were:

Keenan Look, Ethel Wilson Gammon Scholarship; Kevin Scarlett, Connie Maxell Scholarship; Taylor Coburn, Chenoweth Hall Scholarships; Tim Allen and Leon Hong, Senior Music Awards; Leon Hong, Jeff Moore and Olivia Streit, Excellence in Music; River Ackley, Jamie, Bradley, Judith Colemann, Emmah Day, Jeremy Hewes, Mary Marble, Michelle Scarlett and Kristin King, Excellence in Visual Arts and Interdisciplinary Fine Arts Awards; Fine Arts Book Arts Award, Helen Waldmeir; Reagan Davenport, English, Creative Writing and Book Arts Awards; Sam Hemenway, Peter J. and Carmella R. NeCastro Creative Writing Scholarship. Sam Hemenway, Kaytlyn Porter, Delaney Gardner, Kayleigh Ireland and Charlie Whitman were the first recipients of the newly established Geneva Frost Memorial Scholarship. This gift was established by faculty, staff and friends of UMM when Frost passed away in February. She taught at UMM for 38 years.
Other awards were: Austin Cyr, Jack Armstrong Behavioral Science Award; Jiafeng Li; , Applied Psychology Award; Melissa Grandmaison, Community Studies Award; Rural Dirt Scholarship, Brooke Marie Hachey; Teresa Gallant, Psychology and Community Studies Award; Erica Batson, Disabilities in Youth Award; Amanda Smith, Maine Campus Compact Student Heart and Soul Award; Aisling Farragher-Gemma, Rebecca Fernandez, Rory Morgan and BJ Marshall, Muriel and Kermit Kraus Memorial Scholarships; Wyatt Ray, Buswell Scholarship;Karlena Palomares, John H. Joseph Memorial Scholarship; Tasha Cushing and Michelle Lynn Hopkins, St. Croix Valley Merit Scholarships; Anne Favolise, Alayna Caricofe, Jennifer Bragdon, Jodi Look and Andrew Howland, Young Scholarships; Claire Diehlman, First Year Chemistry Award; Morgan Rolfe and Sarah Sterling, First Year Biologist Awards; Skylar Mushlit and Kareana Lupe, Freshman Marine Biology Awards; David Cisneros, Getchell Memorial Scholarship; Derek Tyler, Elsie A. and Richard C. Larson Scholarship; Miranda Mahar and Kurt Manco, Penobscot County Conservation Award; Tristan Matthews, Recreation Freshman of the Year; Mikayla Kelley, Cheney Award of Merit; Seaira Robinson, Lincoln and Alice Sennett Memorial Scholarship; Trent Patterson, Wilson Gammon Scholarship; Kaitlyn Crowley, Chipman Smith Memorial Scholarship; Patricia Dione Wallace, Allen Scholarship; Tristin Phillips and Ellie Mae Cox, McCracken Scholarship; Trent Patterson, Drisko Scholarship; Sophia McDonald and Brooke Alley, Frederic and Norma Reynolds Scholarship; Marc Brine, Angela Marie Yates, Seaira Robinson, Mary Ann Gurney, Dana Wesley Turner, Augustus W. Young and Ruth A. Young Scholarship; Elizabeth Whittaker, Maine Policy Scholar; Trent Patterson, Norman Duzan Scholarship; Kareana Lupe, Bath Iron Works Scholarship; Ciara Schoppee and Hannah Barnhart, Grant Scholarships; Malcolm Macdonald and Sarah Sterling, Edna Higgins Scholarships; Colleen Hendricks, Lighthouse Keepers Memorial Scholarship; Kylie Dunphy, Robert Maxell Scholarship; Wyatt Ray, Perry Scholarship; Alexandra Helmi Carpenter, Amy Pinkham Scholarship; Myheisha Tremblay, Nathan Turk Memorial Scholarship; Ponowon Wocuhsis Brodeur and Preston Leighton, Gladys Wilber Scholarship; Colleen Kostovick, Hannah Barnhart, Olivia Streit, Josie Griffin, Ian Nally, Ryan Gonzalez, Morgan Rolfe, McKenna Roden, Wyatt Ray and Dorsey Hill, Nathan and Dorothy Burbank Scholarship; Teresa Galanti, Alumni Association Annual Scholarship;  Jodi Look, Alumni Association Endowed Scholarship; Morgan Rolfe, Irene Hibbs Scholarship; Kristin King, Sunrise Senior College Scholarship; Skylar Mushlit, Palmer Memorial Scholarship; Becca Fernandez, Phi Tau Phi Scholarship.