UMM Holds Annual Honors Convocation

Senior Michelle Buckley Presented Annual Ivy Oration

MACHIAS, ME – More than fifty University of Maine at Machias students were honored with awards or scholarships at the University’s annual Honors Convocation, held Wednesday, April 29, at UMM’s Performing Arts Center.

Headlining the event was the Ivy Oration, presented by Michelle Buckley, a senior from Becker, Minnesota.

The Ivy Oration is presented by a graduating senior, selected by his or her peers in the senior class, to speak about their experiences at the University of Maine at Machias. Buckley, who will receive a Bachelor of Arts degree in Behavioral Science with a concentration in Applied Psychology, has been involved in various theater productions, tutoring fellow students, and working at the Murdock Bookstore during her four years on the UMM campus. In the fall, she will be attending the University of St. Thomas in their Master’s of Counseling Psychology program.

Senior Watch Awards, presented annually to two graduating seniors selected by the faculty for their citizenship, leadership, and service to the UMM community, were awarded to Michael Lachance of Uxbridge, Massachusetts, and Betsy Barber of Blair, Nebraska.

Brenda Frey, Career Development Coordinator, was selected by the senior class to receive the Unsung Hero Staff Award. The seniors also presented the Frederic A. Reynolds Faculty Award to Dr. Lois-Ann Kuntz, Assistant Professor of Psychology, and named Dr. Brian Beal, Professor of Marine Ecology, as Senior Class Marshall at the May 16 Commencement Ceremony.

Endowed scholarship recipients announced for 2009-2010 were:
Connie Maxwell Scholarship – Lacie Pottle and Jordan Gilletti
Amy Pinkham Scholarship – Kiley Jones
Vonetta C. Smith Scholarship – Heather Alley and Vanessa MacLean
Gladys Wilbur Scholarship – Joshua Spencer, Elisaabeth Beal, and Ellen Nicholas
Edna Higgins Scholarship – Joseph Di Donato, Melissa Dilorenzo, and Mark Jochem
Percy & Francis Allen Scholarship – Nathaniel Woodward
Rebecca H. Perry Scholarship – Hilary Lisee
W. Allan McCracken Scholarship – Ashley Murphy and Michael Debertin
Frederic A. & Norma P. Reynolds Scholarship – Danielle Tarbell
Lighthouse Keepers Memorial Scholarship – Acadia Tripp
Dr. Philmore & Dorothy Wass Education Scholarship – Donald McCallum
Jack Armstrong Behavioral Science Award – Kristina Knabenshue
Elsie A. & Richard C. Larson Scholarship – Valerie Sargent and Nathaniel Case
Bath Iron Works Scholarship – Colleen Coffey, Hillary Savage, Katelyn Parks, Amanda Brown, Vijay Reddy, and Kelsey Kurz
UMM Alumni Association Scholarship – Clarissa Arsenault, Lynda Barnes-Dolley, Ellen Farnsworth, Dawn Fickett, Heather Fugger, Valerie Knights, and Cynthia Preston

Other award recipients announced at the Honors Convocation included:
Greek Awards – Spring 2008: Kappa Delta Phi and Kappa Alpha Kappa
                              Fall 2009: Kappa Delta Phi and Phi Tau Phi
Student Organization of the Year Award – WUMM Radio Station
Senior Honors wards in the Visual Arts – Gwen Carter, Jessica Francis, Nick Sanborn, Anna Mather, Josey Carey, Michelle Amato, Ellen Nicholas, Randi Smith, Connie Harter-Bagley, Maeve Perry, Alessandra Boada, Abeni Clements, and Hillary Savage
Interdisciplinary Fine Arts Award – Gwen Carter, Anna Mather, Stephanie Francis, Adam Brown, Dan Rolfe, Hannah Seibenhaar, Joshua Luman, Matt Ganong, Meghan Lampher, Sam Tannenbaum, Michelle Buckley, Sean Mcermott, Andy Choeffel, and Melissa Murphy
Outstanding Senior Applied Psychology Award – Michelle Buckley
Excellence in Biological Science Award – Stephanie Mathias and Summer Meredith
General Chemistry Award – Adam Bedard
Penobscot County Conservation Association Award – Anna Adams, Shawn Goggin, and Michael Prenier
Recreation Freshman of the Year Award – Acadia Tripp
Outstanding Business Administration Student Award – Adam Pearce
Outstanding Secondary Education Award – Donald McCallum
Maine Policy Scholar – Susan Sexton
AFUM Scholarships – Ashley Couture, Summer Meredith, and Nathanial Jillette
George Mitchell Scholarships (Honorable Mention) – Vanessa Flood, Mallory Johnson, Tyra Lyons, Vanessa MacLean, and Nicholas Shults

Share |